Skip to main content

Selling products and services

What your business needs to know about ICT Common Capabilities and selling products and services to government agencies.


An ICT Common Capability is any technology that can be used by 1 or more agencies, or across all-of-government, to support business outcomes.

The lead agency takes responsibility for procurement and contract maintenance.

Open and closed panels

We use open and closed panels of service providers to deliver Government ICT Common Capabilities. Service providers are invited to join a panel through a notice published on the Government Electronic Tenders Service (GETS).

Open panels

When the panel is open, additional service providers can apply to join during its contract period.

Current service providers can also apply to provide services in additional categories. Contact the product manager for the product or service you’re interested in, they will let you know if there are any Standing Requests and when you can apply.

Closed panels

Additional service providers are not able to apply to join a closed panel during its contract period.

If you have a product or service that would be a ‘good fit’ to extend services, you can submit a response when the panel contract expires or when we next call for applications on GETS.

Authorised Parties

An Authorised Party can be an eligible agency or a third-party supplier that has been approved by the lead agency to procure services under the Common Capability ICT Contract.

That procurement must be solely for the benefit of an eligible agency.

Government Procurement Rules

The Government Procurement Rules are issued by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE), as the government system lead for procurement.

Government Procurement Rules – MBIE

These rules provide consistent and predictable sourcing processes, making it easier for agencies and suppliers to engage with each other.

Compliance rules – Key points

  • These rules are compulsory for public service departments, NZ Police and the NZ Defence Force.
  • Agencies in the state services are expected to refer to the rules as good practice.
  • Wider state sector agencies are encouraged to refer to the rules as good practice.

Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission (PSC)

How to sell your product and service

All open tenders are advertised through requests for information (RFI) and RFPs on GETS.

Government Electronic Tenders Service (GETS)

The formal procurement process for all-of-government services

  1. Register your agency with GETS.
  2. Select the appropriate category codes for your industry. You’ll receive an automatic email notification when a tender has been listed.
  3. Download the documents.
  4. Attend available briefings.
  5. Prepare your response for submission following the instructions in the documentation.

How long the procurement process takes depends on:

  • the complexity of the procurement
  • the number of responses received and
  • whether or not it’s a single or 2-stage tender process.

The Rules of Sourcing also set minimum timeframes for parts of the process.

When your RFP is not successful

  • If you’re unsuccessful — you will be offered a debrief session to help you understand the strengths and weaknesses of your proposal and how to improve future proposals.
  • If you submitted a response for an open panel — you can submit a new response when the Standing Request is advertised on GETS and the panel is open for new admissions.
  • If you responded to a closed panel or single supplier RFP — you will not be able to apply again until the contract expires.

ICT Common Capability contracts

An ICT Common Capability contract is a collaborative contract for the procurement of ICT goods and services.

The contract is developed under the oversight of:

  • the Government Chief Digital Officer (GCDO)
  • at The Department of Internal Affairs (DIA) – the system leader, and
  • is approved by MBIE – the procurement system leader.

There are 2 types of ICT Common Capability contracts – mandatory and voluntary contracts.

Mandatory contracts

Agencies must purchase from these contracts where the contract reasonably meets the agency’s needs.

An agency that wants to opt-out of purchasing from this type of contract must get approval from the GCDO.

Voluntary contracts

Agencies should purchase from these contracts where the contract reasonably meets the agency’s needs.

ICT Common Capability contracts contain the Authorised Party provision unlike all-of-government and Syndicated Contracts.

DIA and MBIE System Leadership roles

DIA and MBIE have system leadership roles in different areas.

MBIE’s role is to lead an all-of-government approach for procurement.

DIA is tasked with ICT system leadership, which means:

  • setting policy, direction and standards for government ICT
  • improving ICT investment system-wide
  • establishing and managing all-of-government ICT services
  • shaping and developing government ICT capability
  • providing ICT Assurance across government.

Both departments work collaboratively with other state agencies to achieve government’s ambitions.

Benefits of being on an ICT Common Capability panel

Undertaking a procurement process only once saves time and cost for both parties.

Once selected to supply an ICT Common Capability, you won’t have to go through another full procurement process with the Authorised Parties.

An Authorised Party simply selects a service provider from the panel, and signs an agreement with their chosen service provider.

The Rules of Sourcing provide further guidance on this process.

All service providers sign up to the same terms and conditions of contract with the lead agency and each participating or subscribing party, providing consistency across suppliers and consuming parties.

How ICT common capabilities are governed

The governance structure is determined at a contractual level. DIA, as Lead Agency for the contract, manages and measures the service performance of the contract, at a system level.

Eligible agencies

All government sector agencies are eligible and encouraged to participate in our all-of-government ICT initiatives and contracts.

Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission (PSC)

This includes any other organisation, agency or group which the Centre of Expertise or lead agency, and the procurement system leader determines to be eligible.

Utility links and page information

Was this page helpful?
Thanks, do you want to tell us more?

Do not enter personal information. All fields are optional.

Last updated