Skip to main content

What are the reference taxonomies?

The reference taxonomies are downloadable data sets that are used as part of the GEA-NZ framework as a common language to categorise government organisations’ business and technology architecture.

Purpose of the taxonomies

The reference taxonomies can be used to:

  • provide a common language
  • categorise the Government Digital Standards Catalogue
  • promote service, information, system and technology interoperability
  • reduce complexity by abstracting, organising and simplifying complex information sets
  • improve overall consistency and cohesiveness of integrated services, shared services and common capabilities
  • deliver consistent and aligned views of commonly required operational and technological services
  • improve the efficacy, utility and cost effectiveness across government
  • drive ICT and digital efficiencies and transformation programmes, through identification of opportunities for development or reuse of common solutions
  • support the development and delivery of a unified public service
  • support the implementation of the Strategy for a Digital Public Service.

The core taxonomies

The 4 core reference taxonomies are aligned to the 4 core dimensions of GEA-NZ:

  • Business
  • Data and Information
  • Application and Software Services
  • Infrastructure.

The fifth taxonomy, named Other Categories Reference Taxonomy, is used for terms that are not included in the 4 core reference taxonomies.

Download the taxonomies

You can download or access the taxonomies individually or all together.

Utility links and page information

Was this page helpful?
Thanks, do you want to tell us more?

Do not enter personal information. All fields are optional.

Last updated